Murray Brown Nacta Leadership Award Recipients

Attention: open in a new window. Print

This new award recognizes one member each year for a distinguished and sustained record of NACTA leadership. The award is named in honor of Dr. Murray Brown who served as president of NACTA in 1969-70 and as secretary-treasurer from 1972-1999. Dr. Brown received the Teacher Fellow Award in 1972, the Distinguished Educator Award in 1978, and a Distinguished Service Award in 1999. Dr. Brown began teaching dairy science as a graduate assistant in 1953 at Texas A&M, and served for 30 years as an administrator and teacher of animal and dairy science at Sam Houston State University. The award is supported by generous donations from NACTA members and family and friends of Murray Brown following his passing in 2005.

Recipients of this award will be recognized at the Annual NACTA Conference with a plaque and a cash award supported by the Murray Brown endowment.

Year Recipient Institution
2009 Marilyn Parker
Rupert Idaho
2010 Rick Parker
Rupert Idaho
2011 Ron Hanson University of Nebraska-Lincoln
2012 Wayne Banwart University of Illinois
Copyright © 2009 North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture