The proposed bylaws revisions linked here for review were developed by a special committee appointed by President Mills and chaired by NACTA Parliamentarian Daniel Foster (Penn State). A consulting parliamentarian’s service was also engaged: Dr. Jim Connors (Idaho), Professionally Registered Parliamentarian, National Association of Parliamentarians. Members of the appointed special committee included:

1. Foy Mills (LCU), President
2. Ann Marie VanDerZanden (Iowa State), Past President
3. Marcos Fernandez (Purdue), President-Elect
4. Chris Estepp, (Arkansas), Member
5. JulNet Management Firm Representative

The committee deliberated, brought recommendations to the NACTA Executive committee, committee chairs and liaisons for input, and now presents the attached revision for consideration by NACTA members. The proposed bylaws will be reviewed by seriatim. Each article or section will be reviewed individually and opened for debate and amendment by majority vote at the virtual annual business meeting slated to begin at 1:00 pm CDT on Thursday, June 18, 2020. Each article will be adopted by the majority vote. A final two-thirds vote will be required to adopt the new bylaws revision.

The membership will also be asked to consider a proposal for standing rules of an electronic annual meeting. That proposal can be found here.

Recommended by: NACTA Executive Committee

Rationale: The North American Colleges & Teachers of Agriculture (NACTA) as an organization is in need of a modern set of bylaws that conform with expectations of our parliamentary authority, Robert’s Rules of Order Newly Revised while improving the efficiency of the organization.

Executive Committee recommendation: Adoption

Proviso: This revision shall go into effect on 06/18/20 with the exception of changes to Article IV. Officers and Organizational Leadership, Section 1. Officers of the Organization, subsection A. Elected Officers will go into effect upon the next annual election.

For More Information Contact:
Dr. Daniel Foster, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. (814.753.2102)
Chair; NACTA Bylaws Review Committee; 2019-2020 NACTA Parliamentarian