A survey revealed that only eight Canadian universities offer courses concerning the economic and management aspects of cooperatives. They are University of Alberta; Carleton University; Ecole des Hautes, Quebec; Sir George Williams University; St. Francis Xavier University; University of Guelph; University of Manitoba; and University of Regina. Contents of the courses and academic credit given for them varies among the universities.

Some economists believe that problems confronting the Canadian economy can be overcome by cooperatives and that more universities should therefore offer courses on cooperative organization with orientation in the management sciences. Following are descriptions of the courses presently offered that might serve as patterns for the development of new courses.



Canadian universities, cooperatives

Download this file (Andrew_NACTA_Journal_March_1976-6.pdf)Download Article[ ]192 kB